The Diocese of Truro’s annual Cross of St Piran Awards will be making a return to St Piran’s Church in Perranzabuloe this year for the first time since 2020.

The 2022 awards will see 18 people recognised for their service and dedication to their churches and communities.

As in the pre-Covid years, there will be two services on March 6 lead by the Bishop of Truro, the Rt Revd Philip Mounstephen and the Bishop of St Germans, the Rt Revd Hugh Nelson.

Each year deaneries are asked to nominate individuals who have gone above and beyond in their service. This year there was an increased emphasis on those working within the areas of the five priorities in the Saints’ Way as well as those working to support others during the pandemic.

The 2022 nominees

Pat Sedgeman, Carnmarth North

Julie Munro, Carnmarth South

Sian Gaston, Carnmarth South

Robert Hulks, Penwith

Marilyn Bowden, Penwith

Ed Oates, Penwith

Alex Farrell*, Penwith

Kay Robinson, Powder

Ron Holland, Pydar

Marion Holland, Pydar

Cathy Woodman, St Austell

June Fahey, St Austell

John Keast*, St Austell

Hannah Clifford, Stratton

Carol Baker, Trigg Major

Sarah Vinson, Trigg Major

Helen Eustace, Trigg Minor & Bodmin

Geoffrey Cox, West Wivelshire

Attendance at the awards is by invitation only with each recipient allowed to bring a number of guests.

Watch this space to find out more about some of the recipients over the coming weeks.

*Bishop’s Award