The election results for General Synod representatives from the Diocese of Truro have been announced.

The House of Clergy will see Revd Canon Anne Brown, Revd Andrew Yates and Revd Ian Gulland take their seats for the next quinquennium, the five year period General Synod sits for.

There were a total of 86 (67%) votes cast with Anne being elected during stage one of the process and Ian and Andrew being elected during the final stage three.

Ian, Anne and Andrew will join Vivian Hall, Nicolas Herian and Robert Perry who have all been selected to the House of Laity at General Synod.

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England. It came into being in 1970, replacing an earlier body known as the Church Assembly.

The General Synod considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, formulates new forms of worship, debates matters of national and international importance, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

There are 483 members of General Synod. Members are arranged into three Houses: The House of Bishops, House of Clergy and House of Laity.

You can find out more about your diocesan General Synod representatives here.