There was stiff competition in the Diocese of Truro’s annual Schools Christmas Card competition with hundreds of entries from 16 schools judged.

The Bishop of Truro, the Rt Revd Philip Mounstephen, the Bishop of St Germans, the Rt Revd Hugh Nelson and Katie Fitzsimmons, Director of Education had the difficult task of selecting winners expertly assisted by local artist Lindsey Morgan-Lundie.

After much debate, Scarlett Connor, aged seven, from Marhamchurch Primary School was chosen as the winner of the Bishop of Truro’s award.

Verity Reeve aged eight from Archbishop Benson School in Truro was selected as the winner of the Bishop of St German’s award.

Samuel Ireland, aged six, from Archbishop Benson School in Truro was selected as the winner of the Education Department award.

Eva King, aged nine, from St Mary’s Primary School in Penzance was selected as the winner of the Diocesan Secretary award.

Ava Cattran, aged eight, from St Mary’s Primary School in Penzance was named as the winner of the Artist’s Commendation Award.

Scarlett, Verity, Samuel and Eva’s pictures will now be used on the Christmas cards sent out by the bishops, education department and diocesan secretary.

Each of the winners of the bishops’ awards will receive a certificate, £25 book vouchers and £100 Amazon vouchers for their school. The winners of the education, diocesan secretary and artist’s commendation awards will receive a certificate and a £10 book voucher.

The judges were so impressed with the level of artistic ability that they also selected a number of entries to be highly commended. Each will receive a certificate. Those chosen were: Lucy Pearn, Sir Robert Gefferys School; Esmae, St Catherine’s School; Olive Brierley, St Francis School in Falmouth; Clover Oates, Grade Ruan School; Allana Johnson, Bishops Learning Academy; Matthew Edson, Bishop Cornish Primary School, Beth Hamten, Bishop Bronescombe School; Etta Ireland, Archbishop Benson School in Truro; Olivia, Trenode School; Christopher, St Uny Academy; Violet Lee Clark, St Mary’s School in Penzance; Elora Mcfarland, St Meriadoc Junior School in Camborne; Seren Morgan, St Mabyn School; Riley, St Issey Primary School.

Katie Fitzsimmons, the diocese’s Director of Education, said: “In times of uncertainty and worry, it was an absolute joy to see the incredible creativity on display at this year’s Christmas card competition.  So much colour and skill shared by children from across the diocese!  It was really hard to select our winners and I am delighted that we are able to recognise the best from every school that entered.  Thank you to everyone that put time and effort into their entry, it brought a huge smile to my face.  I am now looking forward to sharing my beautiful card with colleagues!”