The Bishop of Truro, the Rt Revd Tim Thornton, has announced the names of six new Honorary Canons of Truro Cathedral.

The Honorary Canonries are given to men and women who have given exceptional service to their Church and communities in Cornwall; and each Canon occupies a Stall in the Cathedral Quire.

The Clergy Canons’ stalls are all named after Cornish Saints; and the 12 Lay Canons’ Stalls are in the names of the Apostles.


The new Clergy Canons are:

The Revd Geoffrey Kenneth Bennett MA Rural Dean of Carnmarth South and Vicar of Budock. He will occupy the Stall of St Nectan.

The Revd Andrew Stephen Gough Priest in Charge of Halsetown and of St Ives. He will occupy the Stall of St Ia.

The Revd Olive Stevens Rural Dean of Carnmarth North and Associate Priest of Redruth with Lanner and Treleigh. She will occupy the Stall of St Adwenna and her installation date will be confirmed at a later date.


The new Lay Canons are:

Christopher David Batt BSc AMRINA Chaplain to the Markets, Agricultural Chaplain and Rural Chaplain; Assistant Co-ordinator for the Farming Community Network, Cornwall (FCN) and Chairman of the Cornwall Emergency Feed Fund (CEFF). He will occupy the Stall of St James the Less.

Mrs Esther Pollard Diocesan Secretary. She will occupy the Stall of St Matthew.

Dr Jonathan Yorick Rowe BSc, BA, MA, PhD Director of Accompanied Ministry Development. He will occupy the Stall of St Peter.


The new Canons will be installed at Evensong in Truro Cathedral on 18 May