Pictured with Bishop Tim (from left) are: Revd Paul Arthur, Revd Marion Barrett, Revd Alan Bashforth, Dr John Kidman, Mr David Smith, Mrs Sue Green & Mrs Sheri Sturgess.

Seven new Non-Residentiary Canons were admitted by Bishop Tim and installed by the Dean following a special Solemn Evensong in Truro Cathedral on 15 September .

In his sermon, the Dean of Truro, the Very Revd Roger Bush, compared and contrasted Greek mythology with the Christian faith and likened the seven new Canons to the seven stars of Pleiades.

“Our seven stars,” he said, “through their several ministries, their witness and discipleship, have been placed in their particular firmaments to shed the light of God on all who are bathed in that light, and in so doing are showing us a way out of the narrow defensiveness that can so easily lock us in to a morbid fascination with decline and irrelevance.

“The Pleiades rise in the spring heralding the rebirth of nature after the harshness of winter,” he continued. “Our seven sisters point to another spring-time, life-giving event, the Resurrection of Jesus Christ and the hope this brings to all creation. That is what we are celebrating and honouring this evening.”



Revd Kenneth Paul Arthur BScEcon PGCE BTh LLM is Director of Ministerial Formation and Development, Deputy Warden of Readers, Priest in Charge of St Dennis and one-time Rural Dean. He has served all his ministry in the Diocese and is an expert in Ecclesiastical Law. He will occupy the Stall of St Meriadoc.

“I feel really privileged to have been invited to be a Cathedral Canon. I very much hope that it means that I shall be able to assist in the life of the Cathedral in whatever ways I am able.”

Revd Marion Lily Barrett BA SRN is Rector of St Mewan, Mevagissey and St Ewe and Rural Dean of St Austell. She is the Convenor of Bishop’s Group for the Ministry of Healing and Bishop’s Adviser on Women’s Ministry. She trained and worked initially as a nurse and is now Chaplain for Little Harbour Children’s Hospice. She will occupy the Stall of St Breaca.

“Truro Cathedral has always been dear to my heart, a place of new steps in life, moves and ordinations. My ordination in 1994 was an amazing, uplifting service to send me forward to parish ministry and chaplaincy over the years. The installation as Canon had much the same feel, a new stage of ministry and a great privilege to share in the life of the Cathedral in even a small way.”

Revd Alan George Bashforth BTh MA is Vicar of St Agnes and Mount Hawke with Mithian, and Priest in Charge of Truro St Clement. He serves as Chair of the House of Clergy and represents the Diocese on General Synod. Alan served as Rural Dean of Powder for 10 years and was a Police Officer before ordination. He will occupy the Stall of St Petroc.

“It is good for anyone to receive affirmation for the things that they do. I hope, in many ways, this is also an affirmation for all those I have worked alongside in ministry and the many others who have helped form me through the years – this is quite patently not something I have achieved on my own and not something I could have done without them.”

Mrs Susan (Sue) Caroline Green BEd (Hons); DipTh is Diocesan Director of Education, and has served as a Headteacher for 18 years in two Church Schools. She is a PCC member, Local Worship Leader, on the Deanery Synod of West Wivelshire and also a member of the Deanery Youth and Children Link Team. She will occupy the Stall of St Matthias.

“Of the thousands of individuals who serve in our schools and parishes, I am humbled to have been invited to join the College of Canons. It is an honour that I wish to share with all my colleagues in schools and my parish.”

Dr John McIvor Kidman BA; DU holds a range of roles within his parish, deanery and the Diocese, these include: Chair of Diocesan Advisory Committee and Chapter Clerk and Executive Officer for the Deanery of Trigg Minor and Bodmin. He is also chair of the Board of Directors for the Saints’ Way Church of England Multi Academy Trust and Chair of the Local Governing Body at St Petroc’s School Bodmin. He will occupy the Stall of St Jude.

“The honour of being admitted as a Lay Canon marks a significant step in my own journey in faith and will strengthen my commitment to serve God and his church. I think of this honour as being not only for me personally but also as a recognition of the contributions of all those with whom I work in my various roles in the diocese. ‘Like good stewards of the manifold grace of God, serve one another with whatever gift each of you has received.’ (1 Peter 4.10)”

Mr David Hilary Smith FIPD is the County Ecumenical Missioner. Before retirement he spent his whole working life with the YMCA, home and abroad, and served latterly as Chief Executive of YMCA Cornwall. David is married to Susan and is a Local Worship Leader in the Penlee Cluster. He will occupy the Stall of St Bartholomew.

“I feel very honoured to have been invited by Bishop Tim to be a Lay Canon of Truro Cathedral. I hope that with God’s help the position will allow me to share more fully, the existing impetus of ecumenicalism within Cornwall and the wider Unity of the Christian Church, for it is in prayer and working together we fulfil Christ’s message- ‘That they all may be one’.”

Mrs Sheridan (Sheri) Jane Sturgess FCA; MA (Cantab) has been a member of General Synod since October 2010, and also sits on the Finance Committee of the Archbishops’ Council. In July 2012, she was elected Chair of the House of Laity and wishes to be a voice for the laity both within the diocese and beyond. She will be known by many from her time as Diocesan Secretary from 2002 – 2010. She will occupy the Stall of St Andrew.

“Becoming a Lay Canon of Truro Cathedral is to me both a reward and a challenge: a thank-you for the service that I have given to the Church of England at parish, diocesan and national level; but more importantly a stimulus to continue this service. Diocesan Chair of the House of Laity, is another platform to assist me in getting to know the laity better, to learn about – and represent – their concerns, and to encourage and promote lay involvement in ministry as part of our discipleship.”


Related link

Truro Cathedral