

How to become a Diocesan Synod member

Who are Diocesan Synod members?

Diocesan Synod has over 70 members, 57 of whom are elected from across the diocese.

It is made up of three Houses:

- 1. The *House of Bishops* consists of the Bishop of Truro and the Bishop of St Germans.
- 2. The *House of Clergy* consists of clergy representatives elected by the clergy from each Deanery Synod with a number of ex officio members including the Dean of Truro Cathedral, the two Archdeacons, Bishop's nominees and the clergy elected to General Synod.
- 3. The *House of Laity* consists of lay representatives elected from each Deanery Synod, Bishop's nominees as well as ex officio members including the lay representatives elected to General Synod.

Representatives are elected for a three year term of office and meet 3 times each year under the Presidency of the Bishop of Truro. Representatives come from across the diocese, ordained and lay, to work together and this helps to provide a system of democratic representation and accountability.

To find out more about what a Deanery Synod member does please see the following documents on our website: [click here to access documents]

- Diocesan Synod Reference Guide
- Roles and Responsibilities of a Deanery Synod member

Who is eligible to be a member of Diocesan Synod?

Laity	Clergy
On electoral roll for a parish*	Ordained
Over the age of 16	Member of House of Clergy on a Deanery Synod (and cannot represent
A communicant member	more than one deanery)

^{*}If not on the electoral roll can be eligible if a declared member of a mission initiative in the deanery

How are Diocesan Synod members appointed?

A person is nominated by using a nomination form. Blank copies of the nomination forms are sent to the electorate at the start of the election process in April. Alternatively a copy can be obtained from Lesley Fusher at Church House - lesley.fusher@truro.anglican.org).

The closing date for nominations is in May.

Voting papers, if an election is necessary, are sent to the electorate at the end of May with the result in mid-June.

They are elected by the members of the relevant House (Laity or Clergy) of their Deanery Synod.

If you meet the eligibility criteria and would like to put yourself forward to be nominated please contact your Deanery Synod Secretary.

Who do I speak to for more information or support?

Your Deanery Synod Secretary can usually help, but you can also contact Lesley Fusher at Church House - lesley.fusher@truro.anglican.org.